Daniel Andrew Khong

The Gamer Digital Marketer

10 Super Easy SEO Techniques For New Startup Founders

Working on your website’s SEO can be very daunting if you come from a non-technical background.

SEO has been portrayed as a very technical skill that involves a huge time investment in both learning and executing it.

But I’m here to tell you that you can start doing it right now. Today. Now!

But before we start, here’s a few things to know:

  1. Google wants you to serve the most relevant content to users when they search for something
  2. Google uses user activity on your website as a data point. More user activity = more relevance = better search ranking
  3. Users gravitate to content that most appeals to their intent at the moment
  4. Keywords placed nearer to the start of sentences are given more weight than those placed at the end of sentences
  5. Having a high bounce rate is not good. Bounce = when a user visits your website and immediately leaves.

Now that we know that, here’s 10 things you can do right now:

1. Use HTTPS

If you are still using HTTP instead of HTTPS, make the change now. Ask your developer how you can do it.

HTTPS has encryption that indicates to Google that you are very likely secure and reliable.

This sends Google a good signal and paves the way for your search ranking.

2. Get Google Search Console

Google Search Console is free and will give you valuable insight such as search terms users are using, which pages are being served to these search terms, click through rates etc.

With this data, you can find relevant high potential keywords to your business that you have missed out.

3. Optimize your title

Identify the main pages that you use to attract users and adjust their titles.

Make them between 50-60 characters.

Important keywords up front, less important ones behind.

Try to communicate your ability to address their pain points.

4. Optimize your description

Just like page titles, optimize your meta descriptions.

Make them around 120 characters. Why 120?

Maximum 160 characters is ideal for desktop. However, on mobile, anything more than 120 will be trimmed and replaced with “…”.

Once again, important keywords up front, less important ones behind.

With your meta description, you can be more liberal with the texts that you use.

More characters = more flexiblity to communicate your solutions to your users.

5. Use only one <h1> per page

A common mistake when building a website is using random header tags (<h1>, <h2>, <h3> etc) liberally without a systematic hierarchy approach.

Another mistake is NOT using header tags!

Use <h1> for text that has the highest impact on a page.

Keep it short.

6. Use <h2> and <h3> for sub headers

Just like your MS word documents, use <h2> and <h3> for sub headers.

Sub headers typically have a slightly longer length than main headers (<h1>).

You can use as many sub headers as you like. But take note of the hierarchy!

7. Use <p> for long sentences

<p> stands for paragraph text.

Use <p> for texts that are not headers. These will become mini descriptions when Google generates sitelinks for your website.sitelinks are sublistings that appear below your main URL’s search results.

In other words, sitelinks give you more real estate and visibility on a user’s search results page.

8. Get a CDN

Your website speed affects your user experience. Slow speeds are proven to increase your bounce rate exponentially.

CDNs (Content Delivery Networks) will take your website data and make copies of them in servers around the world. Your website is then served to users from the closest server to them.

For example, if your users are in Malaysia but your hosting is based in the US, your Malaysian users will have to ping the US server, send a request all the way to the US, and load all the assets from there.

With CDNs, they will make copy your data to servers around the globe. So instead of your Malaysian users loading assets from the US, they will be served from the closest server to them (e.g Singapore).

This can tremendously improve load speeds and indirectly, your conversion rates and bounce rates.

Check out https://www.cloudflare.com/

9. Upload your sitemap.xml

For Google to know you exist, you need to upload your sitemap to the Google Search Console.

A sitemap is a layout of your website. It tells Google what pages exist and where to find them.

Once Google crawls your website, it will periodically crawl it without the need of a sitemap.

Google’s bot will jump from one page to another, exploring all the possible internal links within a website until it has nowhere else to go.

So you just need to upload it once and you’re good to go.

However, it is generally good practice to update your sitemap regularly since some pages may not have internal links linking to it.

To get started:

  • Create a Google Search Console account
  • Google for a sitemap.xml generator
  • Upload it to your website
  • Link to it in Google Search Console

10. Compress your images!

Website load speed is super important for SEO.

Take the images from your website and run them through an image compression service like TinyPNG.

Then reupload them to your website.

Most of the time, image files are unnecessarily huge. Compressing them improves your website load speed. If you use lossless compression, the image files reduce in size without sacrificing image quality. So it’s a win win situation!

If this is all just too much, get in touch with me and let me help you out with your SEO 🙂

10 Things New Startup Founders Need to Know About Google Ads

Running ads on Google can be very simple to learn but daunting when presented with all the options Google Ads has to offer.

And if you’re running on a limited budget, choosing where and how to use those funds to maximize your ROI is key to breaking even and achieving a higher ROAS.

Here’s 10 things to help point you in the right direction:

1. Setup your conversion events

Before you run your campaigns, be sure to setup all the conversion events in your customer journey; from product views to add to carts to purchases.

If you close your sales through calls or anywhere off your website, setup your lead conversion event so you know which campaigns are bringing you leads.

2. Assign a value to these conversion events

If there is no clear way to define a confirmed sale on your website, assign a value to your lead. Here’s an example of how you can value a lead:

Average revenue per user (ARPU) * Conversion Rate = Lead Value

So if you have an ARPU of $200 and a conversion rate of 10%, your lead should be valued at $20.

So doing the math, if every $20 spent on Google ads brings you 1 lead on average, you should be able to break even after obtaining 10 leads, which is consistent with your conversion rate.

If you’d like to set the target higher, feel free to set a lower conversion value.

3. Account-wide negative keywords

Now this technique will help your Google Ads tremendously.

Create a negative keyword list that applies to all your campaigns.

Then, everyday, go into each of your campaigns and look for the search terms that your ads appear for.

If you see any keywords that are unrelated or have very low user intent, add it to the negative keyword list.

This will make sure you don’t waste money bidding on those same keywords over and over again.

It also frees up more funds which can be used to bid on more relevant keywords.

4. Maximize your ad extensions!

A free way to improve your Google Ads performance is to add ad extensions.

They are free and is relatively easy to setup.

Add as many ad extensions as you can to ensure you get more real estate when your ads appear on search results.

5. Economic Google Display Network (GDN)

In my opinion, GDNs have a very small impact on your overall multichannel marketing. However, if you still wish to use them, set your max bid to something like like $0.50 and use it for remarketing rather than acquiring new users.

It’s great to be seen all over the web but it’s more economical to show these GDNs to users who have seen your brand before.

6. Optimize your ad schedule!

Different industry may have varying results.

If you’re running ads for only countries in one timezone instead of a global audience, check your ad schedule by time of day.

There will be hours that guve you very little conversions or have a very high cost per conversion.

Schedule your ads so they don’t appear during these hours. Google will allocate them to the hours that do well and you will see a better performance almost instantly.

7. Set a very high max bid for brand keywords

Your brand keywords will always give you amazing ROI.

Don’t let your competitors outbid you and take your users away.

Set your maximum bid for your own brand keywords really high to make sure you always appear number 1.

This is especially important in highly competitive markets where brand loyalty has not been properly established yet.

8. Exclude Google search partners

Based on my experience, it’s never a good idea to include Google search partners in your campaign.

The only time it makes sense is when you have already maxed out your daily budget for your campaign and are looking to sacrifice a bit of ROAS for volume.

If you are like most startup founders with a very limited budget, it’s best to leave this checkbox unticked.

9. Exclude keywords from campaigns that overlap

If you have 2 or more campaigns that have overlapping keywords, exclude them from each other.

This ensures that the campaigns don’t compete for the same search term and unintentionally drives the bid higher.

For example:

Campaign 1 keyword: property to rent in kuala lumpur

Campaign 2 keyword: apartment to rent in kuala lumpur

Add a negative keyword ‘apartment’ to campaign 1.

Add a negative keyword ‘property’ to campaign 2.

10. Aim for that 10/10 keyword quality score

To really get the most bang for your buck, try to get a quality score of 10/10 for as many keywords as possible. This can reduce your cost by up to 80% of what you would pay if it was 1/10.

Quality score is made up of 3 components that can be simplified as:

  • Expected Clickthrough Rate – This is highly affected by historical performance of your ads overall. Pause ads that have low clickthrough and conversion rates. Eventually, your expected clickthrough rate should always be above average.
  • Landing Page Experience – You want your visitors to spend as much time as possible on your landing page. Do your best to make sure they don’t click ‘Back’ once they land on your website.
  • Ad Relevance – Make sure your ad copy is highly relevant to the keywords you are bidding for. If it’s not, it may be a good idea to split them up into different ad groups.

So that’s it! I hope these 10 tips help simplify the process of optimizing your Google Ads and your money is better spent on effective campaigns!

Feel free to PM me if you’d like me to help grow your business 🙂

PART 2: 20 Things New Startup Founders Need to Know About Facebook Ads

Credit to: Adlibbing.org

I hope you found Part 1 of this series interesting and useful. It took me years of AB testing and experimenting to understand what works and what does not.

If you’re still stuck and are unsure about how to further improve your ads or conceptualize ideas, don’t worry. I’ve run my fair share of Facebook ads for MNCs, startups and SMEs that failed but also had ads that exceeded expectations. Even if you fail 9 times out of 10, all you need is that 1 winner.

Don’t just focus on what works, but also learn from what doesn’t work.

Let’s dive straight into 10 more things you should know about Facebook ads as a new startup founder:

11. Standardize your brand logo across your content

This is an easy thing to miss. In all your visuals, put your brand logo. Corners work well, the top right especially.

We want to make sure that we don’t just produce valuable and engaging content. We also want users to remember our brand subliminally.

Even if they can only recall your brand colors or the shape of your logo. All we need is to reach them 7 times! (see Rule of 7)

12. Forget length, focus on readability

Credit to UXMastery

Don’t overthink the length of your Facebook posts; whether it’s too long or too short.

Instead, focus on the readability and substance of the content.

Both long form and short form posts work. It’s a fact.

Long form posts captivate users. Short form posts give them bite size information.

Use both if you can but focus on readability.

No one likes to read a wall of text.

Space your text out, add pointers, numbers, spaces, emoticons, punctuations.

Try out this tool for a start: Hemingway Editor

13. Use humans, be human

Credit to Topbots

If you are using stock images or images with just your product and not getting great results, try adding a human element.

Use images with humans in it. Users generally can relate and engage better when they see human elements.

In 2019, users also generally prefer a down to earth approach to content. Communicate with your users like a friend rather than a robot.

Quick tip – Sometimes, video content from a camera phone can do better than a well edited 1080p HD video.

14. Don’t overthink your post timings

Sure, it’s great if you know when your users are most active during the day. If you do, by all means, schedule it for maximum engagement.

However, if you don’t know it yet, don’t get obsessed over the timing of your posts.

Great content will go viral regardless of whether you post it during breakfast or lunch or after dinner.

15. Build a lookalike audience

If you have a database of at least 500 users, build a custom audience with that and create a Lookalike.

You can do it with 100 users but I recommend at least 500 users.

Bigger sample size, more data to work with, higher accuracy.

Create 3 types: 1%, 1-2%, 2-5%

Start with 1%, once you’ve exhausted it, start adding in 1-2% and 2-5% to scale.

Lookalike audience may not always work for everyone at the get go.

So here are a few types of lookalike audiences you can start build around:

  • Newsletter subscribers
  • Existing customers
  • Users from lead generation campaigns
  • Top 25% website session duration

Get in touch with me if you’d like to learn how.

16. Setup your product catalog

If you’re running an eCommerce business selling goods, setup your Product Catalog!

Pulling the product feed directly from your website to Facebook allows you to not just remarket products to your users or tag them on your posts on Facebook.

You can also use it to setup a Facebook shop as another channel for your users to browse your products.

It’s very easy to integrate if you’re running on Shopify, WordPress or the likes of it. So if you haven’t done it yet, go set it up!

17. Setup your DPA ads

Credit to Shopware

Once again, if you’re running an eCommerce business selling goods, setup your Dynamic Product Ads (DPA) too. This works hand in hand with your product catalog.

This will allow you to push remarketing and cart abandonment ads to pull your users back.

DPA ads typically give the best ROAS so set them up now if you haven’t!

18. Stop using that “Boost Post” button

Credit to Grey Squall

It’s convenient, it’s easy but it’s burning your money.

Just like 7 Eleven product pricing. Convenience has a price.

Take the time to explore the Ads Manager and setup your ads from there.

Boost Post defaults to a Post Engagement campaign objective.

This tells Facebook that you want maximum engagement on your post. Sounds good.

But what does it actually do? It gives you a bunch of likes for vanity sake. It looks good. That’s all.

Don’t sacrifice control over your ads for convenience. Be in control and make sure optimize those dollars spent. Optimize using metrics that make you money. Which brings me to my next point.

19. Stop using Likes as a metric for your content

Just take the concept of Likes on Facebook and throw it out the window right now.

Likes mean nothing. And if anyone tells you otherwise, stop listening to them.

It doesn’t matter if your Facebook content has a thousand likes. Focus on what matters.

Here’s the order of priority for types of Facebook engagement you should use in 2019:

  1. Long comments
  3. Short comments
  4. Reactions

20. Cull the weak

You will be experimenting with a lot of content and most of them won’t work. It’s okay to have 9 of 10 of your content fail miserably. All you really need is that ONE piece of content that works to break through.

Look back at all your older Facebook posts and remove the ones that performed badly. You know the ones with 5 likes or 10 likes and no comments/shares, delete them.

Give your users a great first impression. When they visit your Facebook page, showcase the pieces of content that performed well.


As usual, if you’d like to know more and dive into more details, feel free to drop me a message and let’s see how I can help you grow your business even more!

PART 1: 20 Things New Startup Founders Need to Know About Facebook Ads

Credit to: Adlibbing.org

We can all agree that running a new startup or business is challenging because you have to wear many hats and be almost completely hands-on in every aspect of your business.

It takes a founder a lot of willpower, time and effort to learn and develop their skills in all these different aspects; from managing employees to product development, marketing, tech and so on.

It’s also no surprise that many businesses are using Facebook as a channel for customer acquisition and growing their brand.

However, it’s understandable that with limited resources, founders are not able to dive as deeply into Facebook Ads as digital marketers such as myself.
Apart from the time factor, founders also have limited budget to spend on their ads. EVERY DOLLAR MATTERS!

So here’s 10 things about Facebook Ads that I really hope will help put things into perspective for new founders and everyone else reading this and steer you in the right direction:

1. Forget CPM and CPC!

Credit to BrideCLICK

It can be daunting to see new acronyms and jargons which make some sort of sense to you. Some of you may not completely understand them and that’s okay.

CPM = Cost per 1000 impressions. How much does it cost for 1000 users to stumble upon your ad (not engage, just stumble upon it)
CPC = Cost per click. How much does it cost to get a user to click on your ad
These 2 metrics that you see above, take them with a pinch of salt. Because for a new business, they don’t matter.

With a limited budget, we are more concern about CPA (Cost per acquisition/Cost per action). We want our ads to drive users to convert or purchase. It doesn’t matter if you have a super low CPM or CPC if users are not converting.

So FOCUS on CPA. If you are not getting enough data, focus on actions 1 step previous in the funnel such as Add to Cart or Checkout. Then work your way back to Purchases.

2. Stop counting how many followers you have!

Credit to sharethis

Many marketers or agencies will push for you to increase your follower count.
Apparently “You need 100k follower”.

I’m here to tell you that’s nonsense.

When you create valuable content and when your users love your products, the follower count will increase on its own. It’s a byproduct of great social media marketing. It should not be a priority at all.

So stop counting your followers and start focusing on serving them valuable content that will make them engage your brand more.
Which brings me to my next point.

3. Stop buying Page likes now!

Sure it’s nice to have a 6 or 7 digit follower base. But as true digital marketers, we know that buying page likes will hurt your business/brand. It’s the worst thing you can do for your Facebook page so stop it!

Why? Because of the Facebook algorithm.

Yes, it was the buzzword in 2018 but let me simplify it for you. What matters? ENGAGEMENT RATE

# of Engagement / # of Page Followers = % Engagement Rate

When you buy likes, you are tapping into a group of people on Facebook that only likes pages for the sake of liking it. They don’t have the intention to make a purchase.

So when you buy irrelevant likes, sure it looks good, but it hurts your engagement rate since the number of page followers increases but engagement remains.

So when Facebook sees your engagement rate take a dip, guess what? It’s a signal to them that your page is not relevant or reliable to users. So your posts will show up less frequent on News Feeds.

If you have a Facebook page that has say 100k followers but only see about 1,000 engagements per post? Guess what you have to do? Stop buying likes. As mentioned in point 2, let the follower base grow organically.

4. Stop posting content for the sake of posting content!

Credit to Inkjet Wholesale

This point isn’t just about Facebook ads but it’s about your content calendar.
I’ve met so many brands who are just focused on churning out content for the sake of churning them out.

Stop it!

Let’s take a look at the Facebook algorithm again. If you keep producing content that only gets 1 like or 5 likes, what does that tell Facebook? The content sucks.

And then what? It sends a signal to Facebook that your page is irrelevant and does not provide useful or engaging content to its followers.

And then what? They’ll show your posts less on the News Feed.

So stop posting content for the sake of it!

5. Establish a funnel

It’s always easier to convince someone with intent or someone who has engaged with your brand right as compared to selling to a random passerby on the street right?

So start with a remarketing campaign and work your way backwards.
Many businesses start with an acquisition campaign, stop there and hope that users will convert or purchase.

It’s the equivalent of getting a random passerby to enter your shop and leaving them to themselves.

Users are NOT going to complete the journey with just 1 campaign.

Start with a remarketing campaign first. And THEN, an acquisition campaign.

Doesn’t it make sense to convince users who have already willingly walked into your shop?

6. Don’t assume!

Credit to grammarly

I’m sure you’re a data-driven person.

Who isn’t nowadays right?

So when running Facebook ads, never assume anything. Which visual would do better? Visual A, B or C?

You don’t know until you experiment it!

Do users prefer an emotional or logical copywriting?

Don’t assume, do some AB testing!

7. Don’t think so much about placements!

It may be daunting to see so many different types of ad placements like Instant Articles, News Feed, Messages etc.

Don’t stress yourself over this.

Run 2 campaigns. Run 1 with auto placements and another with just News Feed.

Experiment and see which works for you. News Feed generally provide more consistent results (as of early 2019).

But who’s to say which is better? Go experiment!

8. Break down your ads!

Credit to Tommy Fierst

Everything in your ad has to have a reason to be there. If it’s just a filler, remove it.

Your copywriting and visuals should all have elements that are there for a reason. If certain words or sentences don’t contribute to your overall message, remove them!

You’ve already competed for the ad space and have appeared in front of a potential customer, don’t waste their attention.

9. Optimize for actions that have volume

This related to point 1. When you’re optimizing your ads for conversions or actions, make sure those actions occur at least 50 times in 7 days.

This gives Facebook a reliable sample size to work with to better optimize your ads.

So if your campaign only has, let’s say 10 purchases a week, optimize it for Abandoned Checkout or Add to Cart instead. Something further up the funnel.

10. Videos > Images > Text

Facebook has been giving extra attention to video content since 2018.
So if you want great engagement, do videos.

If it’s too costly or time consuming, at least create content with captivating images.

Try not to post anything with only text.


Here’s the next 10 things you need to know..

If you’d like to know more and dive into more details, feel free to drop me a message and let’s see how I can help you out with your Facebook Ads!

What Does Your RPG Class Say About You As A Team Player?

Credit to: Tiro Finale

In modern day RPG and MMORPG games, there are hundreds of classes of characters that you can pick to play as. There are even some games like Rainbow Six Siege or Call of Duty that lets you personalize your characters in ways that act like “classes” too.

However, the basic classes from older games can easily be categorized as follows:

  • Tank
  • Healer
  • Wizard
  • Ranger
  • Assassin

Well, there is a more simplified “Trinity” which consist of Tank, Healer and DPS.

For discussion sake, lets use the 5 classes above instead.

And if we look at the 5 types of team members that exist, it’s easy to assign them to a RPG class accordingly.

Wondering which type of team member you are based on which RPG class you prefer? Here we go:

5. Tank – The Team Driver

People who choose tanks are those who want to be heavily involved at the front line. They enjoy holding the team together and dictating the push and pull dynamics through controlled aggro.

Tanks also enjoy protecting their teammates from and taking one for the team if the need arises. Tanks are aggressive in nature and have good intentions. However, their personality can sometimes be mistaken as careless or brash.

Sometimes, tunnel vision can take over and it may be difficult for the tank to take a step back and look at the bigger picture.

4. Healer – The Intellectual Powerhouse

The healer always has the bigger picture in mind and thrives on perfecting the communication of the team. Healers are normally placed in the backline and this allows them a bird’s eye view of the situation.

Team members love healers and are always the go-to teammate when things are not turning out that well.

Healers are very frequently neglected since their contributions are normally very subtle. Many times, their value is only appreciated when things turn sour. When times are good, healers are the ones quietly supporting their teammates.

A healer doesn’t seek glory. Just watching the team succeed is all they need to sleep peaceful at night.

3. Wizard – Maven Influencer

The wizard has access to something their teammates don’t: MAGIC (yes, I know healers use magic too).

Connected to the arcane, wizards enjoy wielding powers that are alien to their teammates but very familiar to them.

Wizards manipulate the mysterious elements to benefit their team in ways that expand the resources for the team. In real life terms, elements such as their network or persuasion skills to tip the balance to their favor.

Wizards enjoy coming up with out of the box ideas that may sometimes sound good but impractical.

However, never underestimate a wizard, sometimes all you need is one great idea to change a defeat into a victory.

2. Assassin – Creative Spark

Assassins understand that sometimes, you can’t go head to head with the enemy. Especially those who are bigger than you.

Assassins know that raw power is not always the solution. Getting creative however, brings you places.

To outplay the enemy, assassin’s enjoy staying away from attention and appearing as a non-threat as they build up their critical strike.

Finding the right angle, the right moment and being creative enough to find weak spots or opportunities is what the assassin excels at.

However, if things take too long, the assassin can grow bored and tired of waiting. Assassin’s long for a challenge every now and then.

Most of the time to prove a point.

1. Ranger – Productive Dynamo

The ranger is all about productivity and efficiency. Rangers min/max their work and are obsessed with getting things done.

Rangers prefer not to beat around the bush and always find the most direct approach to problems.

Being hardworking, rangers can handle anything that’s thrown at them.

However, just like the tank, rangers can sometimes get lost in tunnel vision and lose track of the bigger picture and the team. This sometimes give them the impression that working solo may be the best.

If rangers are kept in check, the team will go far.


Some individuals may have a combinations of them.

But one thing’s for sure, everyone has different strengths and weaknesses and these motley mix of personalities strengthens the team.

If everyone had the same personality in the team, it might be more difficult to get things done.

Think about it, would it be viable to have 5 healers or 5 tanks? Well in some cases, yes. But in most cases, having multiple personalities in a team enables team members to cover each others’ weaknesses; making the sum of the team greater than the sum of its parts.

5 Things Ragnarok Online Players Were Doing Before Tech Startups Made It Cool

Credit to: RateMyServer.net

Many from my generation played Ragnarok Online (RO) back during our school days.

It was a game my friends and I played for a very long time.

Looking back at games like these, it’s easy to see how gamers are excellent innovators.

Here’s 5 things RO players were doing before startups made it cool.

5. Flash Sales (Lazada, Shopee)

Credit to: Kevin London

In RO, everyone had a merchant character they would use to sell items and equipment.

Most of them set up shop in the main city, Prontera. Some set up in other cities like Geffen and Payon to avoid competition.

Some merchants stood out from the rest. They sold the same category of items everyday and they had loyal customers who knew just that.

Many of these merchants had predictable habits; farm for the items, then sell them at the usual spot everyday.

Since they specialized in certain category of items, they could sell them cheap since they had volume.

And that’s what they did. When loyal customers saw them, they would follow them around and wait for these merchants to set up shop and grab these items at insane prices before they ran out of stock.

Low Prices. Predictable time.

Doesn’t that sound familiar?

4. E-hailing/Ridesharing (Grab)

RO had characters(acolytes/priests) who could open up warp portals for people to use to get a round. Most of them charged fees for this service.

These were the fastest and most convenient ways to get around.

Some of these priests/priestesses had loyal customers too who would proactively message them in-game to get a warp to specific locations.

Many people patronized the higher level ones because they could access areas with high level monsters and create warp portals there for people to use.

Those were the early years of booking a ride through a computer screen.

3. Training/Leveling Up (Next Academy)

In MMORPGs, everyone has to go through the grind of leveling up your character.

And that was what RO players were very familiar with.

However, many soon realized that you could level up faster if you had a higher level friend to help or “tank” higher level monsters for you.

And that is what most of us did. Some of us had friends who could help us out.

But of course, if you’re seeing the trend now, RO had an economy for leveling up services as well.

Businesses like Next Academy don’t give you the fish, they train you to fish.

Which is exactly what these players who were offering leveling up services were doing.

Once you reached the level you needed to be at, you could level up or train yourself.

This concept of self improvement holds true to real life as well. You can go about improving yourself alone. But maybe having someone help you might just speed things up a little.

2. Getting Around Faster (GoCar)

Apart from opening warp portals for teleporting, acolytes/priests had skills that could speed up your character and give your characters some stat boosts.

Kinda think about it, acolytes seem to be the grab drivers of RO.

Anyway, some players didn’t enjoy teleporting and wanted to experience the view while getting somewhere.

At the exits of the main cities, many acolytes/priest would set up shop to offer these services to speed up your character and give them stat boosts so your characters will not die to monsters easily.

This allowed players to cut down their travel time by half while traversing the world of RO.

So instead of sitting back and letting the warp portal do its thing. You could control your character yourself and still get to your destination faster than you would alone.

1. Crowdfunding (pitchIN)

One of the aspects that made RO a team oriented game was guilds.

Guild members looked out for each other because like most other game, teamwork was key.

Many guilds knew that one effective strategy of building up your team was one at a time rather than all at once.

And this is what many of them did.

Instead of having everyone farm on their own, guild members would work together to build each other up one at a time.

Members would crowdfund not just their time to farm items for their fellow members, but also in-game currency to purchase equipment to speed up the process.

How many of you remember farming SS cards for your assassins, or Ghostring cards for your tanks?


The point that I’m trying to make is that a game-changing inspiration can come from something as simple as a computer game.


  • RO merchants were doing flash sales in Prontera just like Lazada and Shopee
  • Acolytes offering warp services are similar to Grab (hailing through a computer screen?)
  • Leveling up/Farming services are similar to academies like Next Academy. Training you until you can fish your own fish
  • Speed up services (AGI UP in RO) are similar to startups like GoCar. Getting to places faster, conveniently at your own pace
  • RO players would crowdfund each other one by one until everyone has endgame gear.

6 Things Playing PUBG Taught Me About Business

Those who know me know that I am a hardcore gamer at heart.

I’ve played countless of game since I was a child.

Along the way, these games have shaped my thought process.

Here are 6 things from PUBG that I feel are highly relatable to business:

6. The Parachute Landing

What is it:

In PUBG and many other Battle Royale games, up to 100 players are dropped onto an island. Players then fight one another to be the last man standing.

When the game starts, players are flown over the island in an airplane. Players can decide when to jump out of it and to steer their avatar to any part of the island they’d like to go to.

Some players choose busy landmarks to find valuable equipment and get right into action.

Some players find the quieter spots to hide out and let everyone else do the fighting.

Why it matters:

Just like in business and life, every decision is a leap. And every leap puts us in a different place. Sometimes by choice, sometimes by circumstances.

These places all have obstacles and opportunities unique in their own way.

Some players prefer the quiet areas where they are less likely to bump into someone else. Easy, but finding good equipment may be a challenge.

On the other hand, some players prefer to be in the midst of all the action. You can normally find good equipment in these high traffic places.

But at what cost?

Either way, we’re all working hard to be successful. Isn’t that what we all want? The Chicken Dinner?

5. The Shrinking Circle (The Playzone)

Credit to: PUBGDiver

What is it:

The Playzone is a circular zone in PUBG that shrinks in size as time goes by. To be safe and alive, players have to stay within the circle or risk dying.

This Playzone ensures that players will eventually meet one another and fight it out. The circle shrinks to different random points of the map, making the flow of the game unpredictable for players.

Why it matters:

Just like the Playzone, markets are always changing. Nothing stays the same indefinitely.

The landscape may change to your competitors’ advantage or to yours. We can only predict it to a certain extent.

What matters most is that we prepare ourselves, adapt to these changes and move forward.

4. Everyone Can Die

What is it:

In PUBG, no matter how well equipped you are. You can die.

Everyone can die.

Why it matters:

It doesn’t matter how well equipped you are. Your avatar can have an ample supply of ammo and the best guns.

Even the most well equipped or highly skilled player can lose.

What matters the most is how you choose to play, strategize and be consistent in your execution.

Here’s someone winning the game with just a frying pan!

3. Intel is Important

Credit to: Kaspersky

What is it:

Intel or information is important is almost all games.

It tells you who you are up against, where they are, what they have, what they are doing etc

PUBG has huge maps.

These huge maps have a LOT of uncertainty as you traverse it. Is anyone in that building? What guns do they have? Is there more than one person?

It may not be the most important element in PUBG but it definitely deserves some recognition.

Why it matters:

Gathering intel gives you a better understanding of what’s to come and helps you plan your approach with more confidence.

And that applies to market research, keyword research, competitor analysis and the likes of it.

Knowing is half the battle.

2. The Chicken Dinner

What is it:

In PUBG, everyone is fighting for the chicken dinner; being the last man standing.

Why it matters:

Everyone’s gunning for the chicken dinner; the win; the success.

Ask around and those who have played PUBG will tell you that the journey and experience of winning is always different.

There is more than one way of reaching your goals and if you have to improvise, improvise.

1. The Quest for The Chicken Dinner

Which brings me to my final point. There isn’t just 1 chicken dinner. There are plenty!

More than 130 million chicken dinners were served as of last December.

I’m sure that number has easily doubled or more.

If you fail to succeed, gather yourself and try again.

Like computer games, sometimes all you need is practice and perseverance.

Now go out there and get that Chicken Dinner!


  • Everyone starts out differently. What matters is how you choose to play the game.
  • The market is always changing. Be prepared to anticipate and adapt.
  • No one is untouchable. Even the mighty can fall.
  • Intel is important. Knowing is half the battle.
  • There is more than one way to reach a goal.
  • If you fail, try again.

© 2019 Daniel Andrew Khong

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑